Dressing for Comfort

A lot of people struggle with which clothes to wear each day, it can be very daunting to have drawers and drawers full of clothes but no idea which ones to pick. 

For some people it isn’t just grab the first thing you see, it is a decision based on confidence levels, comfort and what is happening throughout that day. My tactic is dark colours and bigger sizes so I can hide the 5 layers I have on under my t-shirt!

My drawers are full of t-shirts but I only wear a select few as they can make me feel comfortable, as I wear these repeatedly they do look a little worn. I don’t mind shopping for new clothes, it’s just that I take a long time to get familiar with I like to wear them.

Sometimes, when I wake up on the right side of the bed I like to wear jumpers but haven’t done so in a long time so they have just been tidied away (Difficult to believe if you have seen my room!) Hopefully when the weather cools down I can crack that drawer open again.

Jeans are a big thing for me, it takes a while to find the right ones. I am short with wide hips which isn’t a great combo so I always have to roll up the bottoms but I actually prefer this. It took me a while to find the right pair of jeans, for a while if I found a good pair then went back for more they had disappeared and it was back to square one.

Shoes are annoying too, I have a box full but have only worn one pair for the majority of the year so far! I do have a pair of boots that I will wear occasionally but again, the conditions have to be right.

Although I don’t mind shopping it can be a bit weird when people look at you in the guys section. All of my clothes are male clothes, I have never felt comfortable in female clothes. They have never fitted me right, I would be constantly pulling at them and they almost never suited my style.

Depending on how I feel on the day will effect what I wear. Recently I have opted bigger t-shirts that are baggy on me so will buy a size up from my actual size. Along with this are black slim jeans and my Mesh Vans which are light weight and support the way I drag my feet around at times.

On top of this I 95% of the time throw on an open shirt, I have enough shirts to last everyday for a month! Saying this, I only tend to wear about six outside of work.

CD8EA40F-04AC-4EDE-B959-52AA21B29C5D

These shirts are more for comfort, I can throw them on and they will hide what I want them to along with being warm and cosy.

At work we have a professional dress code Monday to Thursday then wear what you want Friday to Sunday. Obviously I look forward to Fridays so I can be more comfortable but during the week I essentially use the same four shifts as these are what I feel comfortable with and don’t have to pull at as much as others. I love to have my days off on Wednesday and Thursday because that means I can wear what I want for 5 whole days!

You can spend all of your time looking for the perfect outside that looks and fits great but if you don’t identify with your own skin then it is all for nothing. I can bind, dress in guys clothes, deepen my voice and change my name but at the end of the day I am still in the wrong skin. It will take while for me to feel truly comfortable with myself  so for now I will learn tips and tricks from others and go about my day.

I have actually found a new tip for binding that has helped a lot and means I don’t have to use tape which is a great bonus! For now I have my eBay binder (A picture of this can be found on Views, Binding and a Hot Office) along with a sports bra but work backwards, this feels weird to begin with but has actually worked out great! As the front is designed to cup it is better to use the back and this keeps things flat. Although, I can’t wear any t-shirts or shirts with a lower neckline as the back will show under my neck.

Coming out was big step for me and has allowed me a little more freedom to be who I am and wear what I need to to get through the day. If my clothes aren’t right or uncomfortable I can’t sit still throughout the day and will be pulling at them at every opportunity, it throws everything off balance.

Clothes may seem like a small thing to a lot of people but to someone who is constantly analysing every millimetre of themselves, they can be a help or a hindrance.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post! If you have any requests, questions, tips or critiques feel free to send them my way via the Contact page or by a comment below.

Until next time…

Chaz/Alex

3 Comments Add yours

  1. -- says:

    You’re so inspiring, thank you! You beautiful human!

    Like

    1. Thank you very much!

      Like

Leave a comment